Health Careers Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > International > Work opportunities in New Zealand
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Internships for overseas medical student

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>
Author
Guest Group
Guest Group
  Quote Eva Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Internships for overseas medical student
    Posted: 12 Apr 2010 at 12:36pm

Dear Sir/Madam

My name is Eva and  I am a 22-year-old medical student from Belgium. At the moment I'm a fifth-year student, which means that I have completed the first part of my training and that currently I am a master student.

In the academic year 2011-2012 I will have completed the more theoretical part of my training and will start my internships. Our university gives us the opportunity to do one of these internships in a hospital abroad. I would very much like to go abroad as I think it is important to broaden my (medical) horizon and to get an impression of other healthcare systems.

I was wondering whether it would be possible to do an internship at your hospital. This internship takes up three months. I understand that you can not grand my request based on this email. If you require any further information please let me know.

Should this not be the correct way to apply for an internship I would be grateful if you could direct me to the right person(s).

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Yours faithfully,

Eva

healthCareers View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Online Status: Offline
  Quote healthCareers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2010 at 12:39pm
HI Eva,

Yes, it is possible to do a medical student electives in a hospital in New Zealand. All placements are co-ordinated by the two universities in New Zealand which offer medical degrees. You will need to contact them directly to participate in their programme.

Please contact either (or both) for further information at: